Main Content

Richard Musgrave Visiting Professorship

In 2008, the CESifo Group and the International Institute of Public Finance (IIPF) established the Richard Musgrave Visiting Professorship, to honour the memory of one of Public Finance's greatest scholars. Richard Musgrave began his studies at the University of Munich and was a founding member of CESifo. This annual prize honours an outstanding scholar in the area of Public Finance. With this award the prize winner is also named a Distinguished CESifo Fellow.
The award winner is chosen through a formal selection process by the President and Vice Presidents of IIPF together with the President of the CESifo Group.


Image 2014

The 2014 award winner is Professor James R. Hines Jr., Richard A. Musgrave Collegiate Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics and L. Hart Wright Collegiate Professor of Law in the Law School at the University of Michigan. He has been an active CESifo Research Network Member since August 1999.

Professor Hines’s research focuses largely on taxation, straddling the border between law and economics. He has made substantial contributions in the areas of commercial law, corporate law, family law, taxation and estate planning. He has received several teaching awards, including from Harvard and Princeton universities. He has written a number of books, devoted in particular to international taxation and taxing multinational corporations. On 24 April 2014, as part of his visiting professorship, he delivered the sixth Richard Musgrave Lecture on the topic of "International Taxation and National Interests".


Image 2013

The 2013 award winner is Professor Joel B. Slemrod, Paul W. McCracken Collegiate Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan and Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics. He also serves as Director of the Office of Tax Policy Research at the Ross School of Business. He has been an active CESifo Research Network Member since August 1999. 

Professor Slemrod has made vast contributions to research on all aspects of taxation and tax policy. Based on his expertise, Professor Slemrod has also served as a consultant to the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Canadian Department of Finance, the New Zealand Department of Treasury, the South African Ministry of Finance, the World Bank, and the OECD. 

On 11 April 2013, as part of his visiting professorship, he delivered the fifth Richard Musgrave Lecture on the topic of "Insights from a Tax-Systems Perspective".


Eytan Sheshinski
Eytan Sheshinski

The 2012 award winner is Professor Eytan Sheshinski, Sir Isaac Wolfson Professor Emeritus of Public Finance and current member of the Academic Committee of Center for Rationality, both at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. In addition he is a member of the Board of Directors and Investment Committee, Psagot Provident Fund, Ltd. He has been a CESifo Research Network Member since October 1999 and has published a number of CESifo Working Papers.

Professor Sheshinski has made contributions to the theory of technical progress and economic growth, the theory of income taxation and public goods, and the theory of firms' behaviour in the presence of inflation and adjustment costs. In recent years his research has focused on social insurance and markets for annuities, and on behavioural public economics (bounded rationality).

On 12 April 2012 as part of his visiting professorship, he delivered the fourth Richard Musgrave Lecture on the topic of "Socially Desirable Limits on Choice".


Timothy Besley
Timothy Besley

The 2011 award winner is Professor Timothy Besley, Director of the Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD) and Kuwait Professor of Economics and Political Science Professor at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).

From September 2006 to August 2009, he served as an external member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee. He is a CESifo Research Fellow, a Research Fellow at the Institute for Fiscal Studies and is a program member of the Institutions, Organizations and Growth Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR).

He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, and the European Economics Association. He is also a foreign honorary member of the American Economic Association. Professor Besley is a past co-editor of the American Economic Review, and a 2005 winner of the Yrjö Jahnsson Award of the European Economics Association. His research, which mostly has a policy focus, is mainly in the areas of Development Economics, Public Economics and Political Economy.

On 8 April 2011 he delivered the third Richard Musgrave Lecture on the topic "Some Principles of Public Organization".


Michael Keen
Michael Keen

The 2010 award winner is Professor Michael Keen of the International Monetary Fund. As Assistant Director of the Fiscal Affairs Department, he influences top-level discussions on tax policy at the IMF. He is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Courcil of the Max Plank Institute, Munich, was IIPF president from 2003 to 2006 and is also Associate Editor for the Journal of Public Economics and the German Economic Review.

On 7 July 2010 he held the second Richard Musgrave Lecture on the topic: "Taxing and Regulating the Financial Sector".


Alan Auerbach
Alan Auerbach

The first-ever winner, Professor Alan Auerbach, was announced by the IIPF President during the association's conference at Maastricht in August 2008 by the then IIPF President, Hans-Werner Sinn.

Alan Auerbach is the Robert D. Burch Professor of Economics and Law and Director of the Burch Center for Tax Policy and Public Finance at the University of California, Berkeley. He is Associate Editor of the American Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics and seven other public finance journals.

On 25 May 2009, he gave the Richard Musgrave Lecture, on "Public Finance in Practice and Theory", at the University of Munich's Freskensaal (Frescoes Room). The paper was subsequently published in CESifo Economic Studies. Mr Auerbach also gave three graduate lectures dealing with topics in dynamic taxation policy.

Short URL: