Main Content

Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR)

Image Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR)

Das Ifo Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR) vereint das Fachwissen aus verschiedenen Forschungsinstitutionen, mehreren Ländern und bisher häufig getrennten volkswirtschaftlichen Bereichen. Hierdurch trägt es dazu bei Fragen der optimalen Gestaltung von Immigrationspolitik zu beantworten.

Divergierende demographische Entwicklungen in Europa und in Entwicklungsländern schaffen die Grundlage großer beiderseitiger Chancen. Gleichzeitig stellt die Immigration gering qualifizierter Arbeitskräfte und die Emigration hochqualifizierter Fachkräfte eine Herausforderung für das europäische Sozialsystem dar. Wie können Zuwanderungsländer sicherstellen, dass Immigranten positiv zu den öffentlichen Finanzen beitragen? Wie können die Sozialsysteme, der Arbeitsmarkt und die Immigrationspolitik gestaltet werden, sodass sowohl Zuwanderungsländer als auch Immigranten profitieren?

Um diese Fragen zu beantworten hat das ifo Institut CEMIR gegründet. Dieses verfolgt einen integrierten Ansatz, indem es Arbeitsmarktökonomik, Finanzwissenschaft, politische Ökonomik, Bildungsökonomik und Globalisierungsforschung miteinander verbindet. Forschung und Politik profitieren von Analysen, Politikberatung, Workshops, Konferenzen und der Ausbildung von Doktoranden. Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt soll auch ein integriertes Modell zur Einschätzung der Auswirkungen von Immigrationspolitik bereitgestellt werden. CEMIR zielt darauf ab aktiv an den Migrationsdebatten in Deutschland und Europa teilzunehmen.

Von 2012 bis 2015 wird es von der Leibniz Gemeinschaft finanziert.

Forschungsprogramm

CEMIR verbindet verschiedene volkswirtschaftliche Bereiche, um aktuelle Migrationsfragen zu beantworten. Sowohl durch den Aufbau eines Zentrums für akademischen Diskurs und die Förderung von jungen Wissenschaftlern als auch durch die Bildung eines öffentlichen Forums des Austauschs und der Information, beteiligt sich CEMIR aktiv an Migrationsdebatten. weiter lesen Forschungsprogramm

Module

Die Forschungsmodule von CEMIR konzentrieren sich auf Fragen der optimalen Immigrationspolitik und der richtigen Gestaltung von Sozial- und Bildungssystemen sowie Arbeitsmarktinstitutionen. Sie untersuchen Themen der ökonomischen und sozialen Integration von Immigranten und des Wettbewerbs um Talente. Ein integriertes Modell zur Bewertung von Effekten von Immigrationspolitik wird zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bereitgestellt werden. weiter lesen Module

Team

CEMIR verfolgt einen integrierten Ansatz, indem es Arbeitsmarktökonomik, Finanzwissenschaft, politische Ökonomik, Bildungsökonomik und Globalisierungsforschung miteinander verbindet. weiter lesen Team

Forschungsnetzwerk

CEMIR bildet den Knotenpunkt eines internationalen Kooperationsnetzwerks. Das Zentrum verbindet verschiedene Forschungspartner, darunter sowohl herausragende Forschungsinstitutionen als auch international anerkannte Wissenschaftler. weiter lesen Forschungsnetzwerk

Konferenzen und Workshops

CEMIR organisiert jährliche Workshops für Migrationsforscher, diese werden auf Doktoranden-, Post-Doc- und Assistenzprofessor-Level angeboten. Das Zentrum lädt erfahrene Wissenschaftler ein Vorträge zu halten und die Arbeiten der Nachwuchswissenschaftler zu kommentieren. Darüber hinaus bringen jährliche CEMIR Konferenzen international anerkannte Migrationsforscher zusammen, die das ifo Institut als Treffpunkt der besten Wissenschaftler dieses Bereichs weiter festigen. weiter lesen Konferenzen und Workshops

ifo Migrationsmonitor

Die aktuelle Flüchtlingskrise stellt die Europäische Union vor eine enorme Herausforderung. Das Ziel des ifo Migrationsmonitors besteht darin, aktuelle Informationen sowohl zur regulären Einwanderung als auch zu den Asylsuchenden in der Europäischen Union bereitzustellen. Der ifo Migrationsmonitor wird vom Ifo Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR) herausgegeben, das 2012 gegründet wurde und das Ziel hat, eine aktive Rolle in der Einwanderungsdebatte in Deutschland und Europa zu spielen. weiter lesen ifo Migrationsmonitor

ifo CEMIR Seminar

Im „ifo CEMIR Seminar“ werden Forschungsarbeiten zum Thema Migration vorgestellt. Zu den Teilnehmern zählen Forscher und Gastforscher des ifo Instituts, des Center for Economic Studies und der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität. weiter lesen ifo CEMIR Seminar

CEMIR Kontakt

Prof. Panu Poutvaara, Ph.D.

ifo Institut
ifo Zentrum für Internationalen Institutionenvergleich und Migrationsforschung
Telefon: +49(0)89/9224-1372
Fax: +49(0)89/9224-1462
E-Mail: poutvaara @ ifo.de
Website


Short URL: www.ifo.de/de/w/3yJAwHrp3

Main Content

Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR)

Image Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR)

The Ifo Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR) combines expertise from different research institutions and countries, and hitherto often separated fields in economics. Through this, it contributes towards answering the questions concerning optimal immigration policies.

Diverging demographic developments in Europe and in developing countries create a potential for huge mutual gains from migration. At the same time, the immigration of low-skilled workers and emigration of high-skilled workers pose a challenge to the European social model. How can receiving countries ensure that immigrants are net contributors to public finances? How can receiving countries’ welfare state and labour market institutions and immigration policies be designed so that both receiving countries and immigrants will gain?

To answer these questions, the Ifo Institute has established the Ifo Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR). It provides an integrated approach, bringing together labour economics, public economics, political economics, education economics and globalization research. It provides public goods to the research and policy communities in the form of analysis, policy briefs, workshops, conferences, and educating doctoral students. At a later stage, it will also provide an integrated model to assess the effects of immigration policies. CEMIR aims at achieving a lasting impact on the German and European policy debates on migration.

From 2012 to 2015, it is financed by a grant from the Leibniz Association.

Research Program

CEMIR integrates different economic fields to answer current questions regarding migration. It achieves a lasting impact through the creation of a center for academic discourse and the promotion of young scientists as well as through being a forum for public debate and information. read on Research Program

Modules

The research modules of CEMIR focus on questions regarding optimal immigration policies and the right design of social, educational and labour market institutions. They discuss issues regarding the economic and social integration of immigrants and the competition for talent. An integrated model to assess the effects of immigration policies will be provided at a later stage. read on Modules

Team

CEMIR provides an integrated approach, bringing together labour economics, public economics, political economics, education economics and globalisation research. read on Team

Research Network

CEMIR is designed as the node of an international network of cooperation. It brings together various research partners, including other distinguished research institutions as well as internationally recognised individual researchers. read on Research Network

Conferences and Workshops

CEMIR organizes yearly workshops for migration researchers at graduate student, post doctoral and assistant professor levels. The Center invites senior scholars to give keynote addresses and to comment on work by young researchers. Furthermore, yearly conferences on migration target established researchers and allow CEMIR to establish Ifo as the meeting point for the best researchers in the area. read on Conferences and Workshops

Ifo Migration Monitor

The current refugee crisis poses a major challenge to the European Union. The aim of the Ifo Migration Monitor is to provide up-to-date information both on regular migration and asylum-seekers in the European Union. Ifo Migration Monitor is published by the Ifo Center of Excellence for Migration and Integration Research (CEMIR) founded in 2012, which aims to play an active role in the immigration debate in Germany and Europe. read on Ifo Migration Monitor

ifo CEMIR Seminar

The “ifo CEMIR Seminar” is intended to create a discussion forum for migration-related research projects. The seminar is held once a month during the semester. read on ifo CEMIR Seminar

CEMIR Contact

Prof. Panu Poutvaara, Ph.D.

Ifo Institute
Ifo Center for International Institutional Comparisons and Migration Research
Phone: +49(0)89/9224-1372
Fax: +49(0)89/9224-1462
Email: poutvaara @ ifo.de
Website


Short URL: www.ifo.de/w/3yJAwHrp3