Main Content

Hanser Verlag 2017

"Der Odysseus-Komplex" von Johannes Becker und Clemens Fuest

Image "Der Odysseus-Komplex" von Johannes Becker und Clemens Fuest

Was hat der Euro mit griechischer Mythologie zu tun? Ganz einfach: Wie Odysseus dem Klang der Sirenen, so haben die EU-Mitgliedstaaten der Verführung durch Neuverschuldung, Reformaufschub und laxe Regulierung zu widerstehen. Anders als Odysseus sind souveräne Staaten aber nur sehr eingeschränkt in der Lage, sich an den Mast binden zu lassen. Der ifo-Präsident Clemens Fuest und Finanzwissenschaftler und ifo-Forschungsprofessor Johannes Becker (Universität Münster) entwickeln einen Plan für die Reform der Eurozone. Sie schlagen einen Weg vor, der die Verantwortung der Mitgliedstaaten für solide Staatsfinanzen und effektive Wirtschaftspolitik stärkt, die Bereitschaft zur Verlagerung von Kompetenzen auf die europäische Ebene nicht überfordert und private Gläubiger für die Kosten der Sanierung überschuldeter Staaten haften lässt, ohne eine Destabilisierung der Finanzmärkte zu riskieren. Dadurch wird die Währungsunion weniger krisenanfällig, und Konflikte unter den Mitgliedstaaten werden entschärft.

Erscheinungsdatum: 20.02.2017

Autoren

Image Autoren

Johannes Becker, geboren 1977 in Münster, ist Direktor am Institut für Finanzwissenschaft der Universität Münster. Zuvor war er Research Fellow an der Universität Oxford und am Max-Planck-Institut in München. Das „Handelsblatt“ zählt ihn zu den forschungsstärksten Volkswirten unter 40 Jahren im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Website

Image

Clemens Fuest, geboren 1968 in Münster, ist seit April 2016 Chef des ifo Instituts in München. Er war von 2007 bis 2010 Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats beim Bundesministerium der Finanzen und von 2013 bis 2016 Präsident des renommierten Zentrums für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW) in Mannheim. Im „F.A.Z."-Ranking der wichtigsten deutschen Ökonomen lag Fuest im Jahr 2016 auf Platz 3. 

Website

Details zum Buch

Der Odysseus-Komplex.
Ein pragmatischer Vorschlag zur Lösung der Eurokrise.

von Johannes Becker und Clemens Fuest
Erscheinungsdatum: 20.02.2017
288 Seiten
Hanser Verlag
Fester Einband: ISBN 978-3-446-25461-9
Preis: € 22,00 [D] I € 29,90 [A]
ePUB-Format: ISBN 978-3-446-25617-0

Vorabdruck

Profitiert Deutschland wirklich vom Euro?
Presseartikel von Clemens Fuest und Johannes Becker, Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, 12.02.2017, S. 24. Details

Interview

  1. „Das Hilfsprogramm war eine einzige Irreführung“
    Interview mit Clemens Fuest, Spiegel Online, 20.02.2017. Details


Short URL: www.ifo.de/de/w/4XyUQooPv

Main Content

Hanser 2017

"Der Odysseus-Komplex" (The Odysseus Complex) by Johannes Becker and Clemens Fuest

Image "Der Odysseus-Komplex" (The Odysseus Complex) by Johannes Becker and Clemens Fuest

What does the euro have to do with Greek mythology? It is quite simple: just as Odysseus faced the luring songs of the sirens, so EU member states need to resist the temptation of fresh borrowing, postponing reforms and lax regulations. Unlike Odysseus, however, sovereign states only have limited options in terms of tying themselves to the mast. Ifo President Clemens Fuest and public finance expert and Ifo research professor Johannes Becker (University of Münster) develop a plan to reform the Eurozone. They propose a path that increases member states’ responsibility for sound state finances and effective economic policy, does not overstretch their willingness to transfer competences to a European level and lets private creditors accept liability for the costs of restructuring over-indebted states without risking the destabilisation of the financial markets. This will make the currency union less prone to crisis and will mitigate conflicts between member states.

Publication date: 20.02.2017

Authors

Image Authors

Johannes Becker, born in 1977 in Münster, is Director of the Institut für Finanzwissenschaft at the University of Münster. He was previously a research fellow at the University of Oxford and at the Max-Planck Institute in Munich. According to the German daily newspaper “Handelsblatt”, he is one of the top economists aged under 40 in German-speaking countries.

Website

 

Image

Clemens Fuest, born 1968 in Münster, has been President of the Ifo Institute since April 2016. He was Chairman of the German Federal Ministry of Finance and Energy Affairs’ Scientific Advisory Council from 2007 to 2010 and President of the renowned Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW) in Mannheim from 2011 to 2016. In the ranking of Germany’s most important economists by the “Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung” Fuest ranked third.

Website

Details about the book

Der Odysseus-Komplex.
Ein pragmatischer Vorschlag zur Lösung der Eurokrise. 

(The Odysseus Complex. 
A pragmatic approach to resolving the euro crisis.) 

by Johannes Becker and Clemens Fuest

Publication date: 20.02.2017
288 pages
Hanser Verlag
Hardback: ISBN 978-3-446-25461-9
Price: € 24.00 [D] I € 24.70 [A]
ePUB format: ISBN 978-3-446-25617-0

Preprint

Unfähig zur Selbstbindung
Press article by Clemens Fuest and Johannes Becker, Süddeutsche Zeitung, 11.03.2017, p. 26. Details

Profitiert Deutschland wirklich vom Euro?
Press article by Clemens Fuest and Johannes Becker, Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, 12.02.2017, p. 24. Details

Interview

  1. „Das Hilfsprogramm war eine einzige Irreführung“
    Interview mit Clemens Fuest, Spiegel Online, 20.02.2017. Details


Short URL: www.ifo.de/w/4XyUQooPv