Main Content

Brookings Institution Press 2013

Endangering Prosperity: A Global View of the American School von Eric A. Hanushek, Paul E. Peterson und Ludger Woessmann

Image Endangering Prosperity: A Global View of the American School von Eric A. Hanushek, Paul E. Peterson und Ludger Woessmann

In dem Buch „Endangering Prosperity – A Global View of the American School” zeigt ifo-Forscher Ludger Wößmann zusammen mit ifo-Forschungsprofessor Eric Hanushek von der Stanford University und Paul Peterson von der Harvard University, dass schlechte Bildungsleistungen den zukünftigen Wohlstand gefährden. Sie analysieren das enttäuschende Abschneiden der meisten US-Bundesstaaten im internationalen Vergleich. Darauf aufbauend zeigen sie das riesige Potenzial für die US-Wirtschaft auf, das in einer Verbesserung der Bildungsleistungen im US-Schulsystem liegt.

Eric Hanushek, der führende Bildungsökonom der USA, kommentiert: „Die Defizite der öffentlichen Schulen in den USA sind ein ernstes Anliegen der Eltern und Politiker. Aber sie sollten ein Anliegen aller Amerikaner sein, weil eine globalisierte Welt neuen Wettbewerb um Talente, Märkte, Kapital und Möglichkeiten schafft.“

Im Vorwort des Buches äußert sich der ehemalige US-Finanzminister und Präsident der Harvard Universität, Lawrence H. Summers: „Aufzuzeigen, dass Leistungsniveaus, die vielen amerikanischen Pädagogen als unvorstellbar erscheinen, regelmäßig in anderen Teilen der Welt erreicht werden, kann und sollte ein starker Ansporn für Verbesserungen der amerikanischen Bildung sein. Darum ist dieses Buch so wichtig.“

Beispielsweise liegen die USA beim Anteil der Schüler, die in Mathematik das Niveau „kompetent“ erreichen, nur auf dem 32. Platz. Selbst die am meisten begünstigte Gruppe derer, deren Eltern einen College-Abschluss besitzen, schneidet nicht wesentlich besser ab. Harvard-Forscher Peterson erklärt: „Wenn wir die US-Leistungen auf das Niveau von Kanada heben könnten, würde das einen Anstieg der durchschnittlichen Löhne um 20 Prozent für jedes Jahr im weiteren Verlauf des Jahrhunderts bedeuten.“

Ludger Wößmann, Leiter des ifo Zentrums für Bildungs- und Innovationsökonomik, ergänzt: „Auch für Deutschland gilt: Schlechte Bildungsleistungen sind wohlstandgefährdend.“ Deshalb sind die leichten Fortschritte, die Deutschland seit dem PISA-Schock erreicht hat, so wichtig. Aber bis zur internationalen Spitze ist es für Deutschland ebenfalls noch ein weiter Weg.

Der ehemalige US-Außenminister George P. Shultz lobt das Buch: „Amerika sieht sich vielen Belastungen gegenüber, von dem Erreichen eines langfristig ausgeglichenen Budgets zur Aufrechterhaltung unserer starken nationalen Sicherheit. Hanushek, Peterson und Wößmann zeigen überzeugend, dass diese Belastungen dramatisch verringert werden könnten, indem wir unsere Schulen verbessern.“

Das Buch, das die Ergebnisse des nationalen US-Tests NAEP mit der internationalen PISA-Studie zusammenbringt, wurde von den drei Autoren im September 2013 bei der Brookings Institution in Washington der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Details zum Buch

Endangering Prosperity: A Global View of the American School
von Eric A. Hanushek, Paul E. Peterson and Ludger Woessmann
Länge: 125 Seiten
Verlag: Brookings Institution Press, 2013
ISBN-13: 978-0-8157-0373-0
Auch verfügbar als E-Book
E-ISBN: 978-0-8157-2271-7


Short URL: www.ifo.de/de/w/uZmefWeM

Main Content

Brookings Institution Press 2013

Endangering Prosperity: A Global View of the American School by Eric A. Hanushek, Paul E. Peterson and Ludger Woessmann

Image Endangering Prosperity: A Global View of the American School by Eric A. Hanushek, Paul E. Peterson and Ludger Woessmann

In their book “Endangering Prosperity – A Global View of the American School” Ifo researcher Ludger Wößmann together with Ifo research professor Eric Hanushek of Stanford University and Paul Peterson of Harvard University, show that poor levels of educational achievement endanger future prosperity. They analyse the disappointing performance of most US federal states by international comparison. Based on this analysis, they show the enormous potential for the US economy that lies in improving educational achievement in the US school system.

According to Eric Hanushek, America’s leading education economist: “The relative deficiencies of U.S. public schools are a serious concern to parents and policymakers. But they should be of concern to all Americans, as a globalizing world introduces new competition for talent, markets, capital, and opportunity.”

In his foreword to the book the former US finance minister and President of Harvard University, Lawrence H. Summers, writes: “Demonstration that levels of achievement, which seem inconceivable to many American educators, are regularly reached in other parts of the world should and can be a powerful spur to improvement to American education. That is why this book is so important.”

In terms of the share of students that reach a “competent” level in mathematics, the USA, for example, ranks only 32nd. Even the most favoured group of students with parents who have a college degree does not perform much better than the average. In the words of Harvard expert Peterson: “If we could lift US achievements to the level of those in Canada, it would mean a 20 percent increase in average wages for each year for the rest of the century.”

Ludger Wößmann, Director of the Ifo Center for the Economics of Education and Innovation, adds: “Poor levels of educational achievement are also endangering prosperity in Germany.” That is why the slight progress made by Germany since the shocking results of the first PISA test is so important. Germany, however, is still a long way from reaching the summit of international achievement.

The former US foreign minister George P. Shultz praised the book with the following words: “America faces many pressures ranging from achieving long-run fiscal balance to maintaining our strong national security. As Hanushek, Peterson, and Woessmann persuasively show, these pressures could be dramatically lessened by improving our schools.”

The book, which brings the results of the NAEP national US tests together with those of the international PISA study, was presented to the public by its three authors at the Brookings Institution in Washington.

Publication details

Endangering Prosperity: A Global View of the American School
by Eric A. Hanushek, Paul E. Peterson and Ludger Woessmann
Length: 125 pages
Publisher: Brookings Institution Press, 2013
ISBN-13: 978-0-8157-0373-0
Also available as an Ebook
E-ISBN: 978-0-8157-2271-7


Short URL: www.ifo.de/w/uZmefWeM