Main Content

ifo Institut

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Werner Sinn

Präsident, ifo Institut

Hans-Werner Sinn

ifo Institut
Vorstand
Poschingerstraße 5
81679 München

Telefon: +49(0)89/9224-1279
Fax: +49(0)89/9224-1901
E-Mail: sinn@ifo.de
Website: http://www.cesifo-group.de/de/Hans-Werner-Sinn

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Lehrstuhl für Nationalökonomie und Finanzwissenschaft/
Center for Economic Studies (CES)
Schackstraße 4
80539 München

Telefon: +49(0)89/2180-2747
Fax: +49(0)89/397303

Ad personam

Hans-Werner Sinn (* 7. März 1948) ist Präsident des ifo Instituts, Professor für Nationalökonomie und Finanzwissenschaft an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Direktor des Center for Economic Studies (CES) und Geschäftsführer der CESifo GmbH. Der breiten Öffentlichkeit wurde Sinn durch seine wirtschaftspolitischen Sachbücher Kaltstart, Ist Deutschland noch zu retten?, Die Basarökonomie, Das grüne Paradoxon, Kasino-Kapitalismus und Die Target-Falle bekannt. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Steuern, Umwelt, Wachstum und erschöpfbare Ressourcen, Risikotheorie, Klima und Energie, Banken, Demographie und Sozialversicherung, Makro, Systemwettbewerb.

Sinn promovierte 1978 an der Universität Mannheim und habilitierte sich ebenfalls dort im Jahr 1983. Beide Arbeiten wurden jeweils mit dem ersten Preis der Universität Mannheim prämiert. Die Universität Magdeburg, die Universität Helsinki und die HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management verliehen ihm jeweils die Ehrendoktorwürde. Zudem ist er Honorarprofessor der Universität Wien.

Sinn wurde vielfach durch Preise geehrt. So erhielt er den Europapreis der Universität Maastricht (2008), den Bayerischen Maximiliansorden für Wissenschaft und Kunst (2008), den Gustav-Stolper-Preis des Vereins für Socialpolitik (2008), die Staatsmedaille für besondere Verdienste um die bayerische Wirtschaft (2012) und den Ludwig-Erhard-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik der Ludwig-Erhard-Stiftung. Er ist zudem Träger des Verdienstkreuzes am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und des Verdienstkreuzes 1. Klasse des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Seit 1984 ist Sinn Professor für Nationalökonomie und Finanzwissenschaft an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München. Zuvor war er zwei Jahre Professor an der University of Western Ontario (Kanada). Gastprofessuren nahm er an der London School of Economics, den Universitäten Bergen, Stanford, Princeton und Jerusalem wahr. Als bislang einziger Deutscher hielt er die Yrjö Jahnsson Lectures in Helsinki und die Tinbergen Lectures in Amsterdam. Seit 1988 ist Sinn Fellow des National Bureau of Economic Research, Cambridge (USA).Von 1997 bis 2000 war Sinn Vorsitzender des Vereins für Socialpolitik, des Verbandes der deutschsprachigen Ökonomen, und von 2006 bis 2009 Präsident des International Institute of Public Finance, des Weltverbandes der Finanzwissenschaftler.

Seit 1989 ist er Mitglied im Wissenschaftlichen Beirat beim Bundeswirtschaftsministerium. Zudem ist er Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Leopoldina (Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher) und der Europäischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste. Er ist ferner korrespondierendes Mitglied der Nordrheinwestfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Forschungsgebiete

Sinns Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen die Themen Steuern, Regulierung, Arbeitsmarkt, Umwelt, Wachstum und erschöpfbare Ressourcen, Außenhandel, Banken, Versicherung und Risiko, Klima und Energie, Demographie und Sozialversicherung, Makroökonomik, Systemwettbewerb und Systemtransformation. Seine Forschungsergebnisse wurden u.a. im American Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics und Quarterly Journal of Economics veröffentlicht. Weiter

Forschungsleistung

Sinn gehört zu den forschungsstärksten deutschsprachigen Ökonomen. 2007 belegte er nach einer Zitations-Studie von Ursprung und Zimmer Platz 2 (alle Publikationen mit anteiligen Gewichten je nach Zahl der Autoren) und lag direkt hinter Nobelpreisträger Reinhard Selten. In der Rangliste der in Deutschland tätigen forschungsstärksten Ökonomen, die in der Forschungsdatenbank RePEc erfasst sind, und die im Wesentlichen auf Zitierungen durch andere Wissenschaftler basiert, lag Sinn im Frühjahr 2012 auf dem ersten Platz. Im Handelsblatt-VWL-Ranking 2013 Lebenswerk-Ranking, das nur den Output in Zeitschriften, nicht aber die Zitierungen und nicht die Bücher erfasst, belegt Sinn den 8. Platz.

Öffentlicher Einfluss

Für die britische Zeitung The Independent gehört Sinn wegen seiner Forschungen zum europäischen Zahlungssystem zu den zehn wichtigsten Menschen, die 2011 die Welt verändert haben. In der Liste „Die wichtigsten Wirtschaftswissenschaftler“ der WirtschaftsWoche belegt er den 1. Platz. Er war als einziger Deutscher in der Bloomberg-Liste der fünfzig weltweit wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten der Wirtschaft des Jahres 2012 aufgeführt. Nach einer Erhebung der Zeitschrift Cicero ("Die Liste der 500", Januar 2013, S. 20), die im Januar 2013 die 500 wichtigsten deutschen Intellektuellen auflistete, lag Sinn auf Platz 14. Nach einer 2013 veröffentlichten Umfrage der FAZ unter Bundestags-Abgeordneten und Mitarbeitern von Bundesministerien belegte Sinn den ersten Platz bei den Antworten auf die Frage „Den Rat oder die Publikationen welcher Ökonomen schätzen Sie am meisten für Ihre Arbeit?“.

Main Content

Ifo Institute

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Werner Sinn

President, Ifo Institute

Hans-Werner Sinn

Ifo Institute
Executive Board
Poschingerstraße 5
81679 München

Phone: +49(0)89/9224-1279
Fax: +49(0)89/9224-1901
Email: sinn@ifo.de
Website: http://www.cesifo-group.de/Hans-Werner-Sinn

Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Center for Economic Studies (CES)
Schackstraße 4
80539 Munich (Germany)

Phone +49(89)2180-2747
Fax +49(89)397303

Ad personam

Hans-Werner Sinn (* 7 March 1948) is President of the Ifo Institute, Professor for Economics and Public Finance at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Director of the Center for Economic Studies (CES) and Managing Director of CESifo GmbH. Sinn is known to the general public for his books on economic policy, which include: Jumpstart, Can Germany Be Saved?, Die Basarökonomie, The Green Paradox, Casino Capitalism und Die Target-Falle. His main research interests are taxation, the environment, growth and exhaustible resources, risk theory, climate and energy, banking, demography and social security, macroeconomics and systemic competition.

Sinn gained his doctorate in 1978 at the University of Mannheim and his habilitation in 1983 from the same university. Both works were awarded first prize by the University of Mannheim. The University of Magdeburg, the University of Helsinki and the HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management have each awarded him honorary doctorates. He is also an honorary professor of the University of Vienna.

Sinn has been awarded several prizes including the Europe Prize by the University of Maastricht (2008), the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art (2008), the Gustav Stolper Prize of the Verein für Socialpolitik (2008), the State Medal for Special Services to the Bavarian Economy (2012) and the Ludwig Erhard Prize of the Ludwig Erhard Foundation. He is also holder of the Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany and of the 1st Class Cross of the Federal Republic of Germany.

In 1984 Sinn was appointed Professor of Economics and Public Finance at the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich. He was previously Professor at the University of Western Ontario (Canada) for two years. He accepted guest professorships at the London School of Economics, the Universities of Bergen, Stanford, Princeton and Jerusalem. He is the only German to date to have given the Yrjö Jahnsson Lectures in Helsinki and the Tinbergen Lectures in Amsterdam. Since 1988 Sinn has been a Fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research, Cambridge (USA). From 1997 to 2000 Sinn was Chairman of the German Economic Association (Verein für Socialpolitik) and from 2006 to 2009 he was President of the International Institute of Public Finance, the world association of public finance experts.

Since 1989 Sinn has been a member of the Scientific Council of the German Ministry of the Economy. He is also a member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences (historical-philosophical category) and of the European Academy of Sciences, of Leopoldina (the German Academy of Natural Scientists). He is corresponding member of the North-Rhine Westphalian Academy of Sciences and the Austrian Academy of Science (philosophical-historical category).

Research Areas

Sinn’s main areas of research cover the topics of taxes, regulation, the labour market, the environment, growth and exhaustible resources, foreign trade, banks, insurance and risk, climate and energy, demography and social insurance, macro-economics, system competition and system transformation. His research results have been published in the American Economic Review, the Journal of Public Economics and Quarterly Journal of Economics. More

Research Output

Hans-Werner Sinn has one of the highest research outputs among German-speaking economists. According to a study of citations by other scientists conducted by Ursprung and Zimmer in 2007, Sinn occupied place 2 (all publications with proportionate weighting according to the number of authors) and directly followed Nobel prize winner Reinhard Selten. In the ranking of research economists in Germany whose work features in the RePEc research database - a ranking that is mainly based on citations by other scientists - Sinn topped the ranking in spring 2012. In the Handelsblatt Ranking of Economists for 2013, which is only based on output in journals and does not include citations and books, Sinn ranked 8th.

Public Influence

For the British newspaper The Independent, Sinn’s research into the European payment system made him one of the top ten most important people who changed the world in 2011. He ranked top of the WirtschaftsWoche’s list of “Most Important Economists” and was the only German to feature in Bloomberg’s ranking of the top 50 personalities in business worldwide in 2012. According to a survey conducted by the magazine Cicero ("Die Liste der 500", January 2013, p. 20) which listed the top 500 German intellectuals, Sinn ranked 14th. In a survey of German Bundestag members and federal ministry staff published by the FAZ in 2013, Sinn ranked top in Germany as a response to the question “Which economist’s advice or publications do you find most valuable to your work?” In the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung's ranking of economists he was named "Germany's most influential economist of 2014" since "no other economics researcher in Germany has such a high profile in the media and politics and is also active in research."